Tragic News

We arrived in Florida. We were here for about an hour and I got a devastating phone call. A woman in one of our other offices was sexually assaulted, murdered and burned in her car while conducting home visits.  I know Brenda and am deeply saddened by this news.  I am literally sick.  I keep trying to replay the scenario in my head and cannot shake these images.  I’m not sure it’s something you get unless you’re in it, but Social Work is a dangerous field even in the “seemingly safe” jobs.  She daily put her life on the line for others and their welfare. She brought smiles to my face at conferences and trainings–and I referred to her as “my favorite” in the Boone office. I know that I’m only one of the many people she touched.  

Heading out to get some ginger ale or sprite for my stomach. I think it will take much more to get over this.  This may be my early retirement.

Here’s the link to the story. http://www.wsaz.com/newswestvirginia/headlines/26177889.html#

One response to “Tragic News

  • Marilyn

    I am so sorry to read this.
    I was actually glad you were away and hoping you wouldn’t hear this news. I never imagined it was a colleague.
    It is so sickening. If you hadn’t had that reaction, I’d begin to wonder.
    May God be with you in your grief and processing of all this.

Leave a Reply

