our kentucky weekend

We had a wonderful time in Kentucky. The children were great in the car. I think the trip only took one hour longer than it usually does, not too bad. Some things I never thought about were “how am I going to use the restroom?” Kind of hard trying to keep an eye on all three and go at the same time….but we worked it out. We arrived on Thursday and had dinner and played with Papaw until Nana came home.  We settled in and the kids went to bed later than usual.   Friday we hung out with Papaw in the morning, we played a lot outside, took a walk and just enjoyed the nice weather.  It actually got HOT while we were there. I can’t even remember all that the kids got into, but they had a blast!  Friday evening we went to my brother and Beth’s house (Uncle Derrick and Aunt Beth) for a cookout.  Other extended family joined us all there.  Mastewal had a great time playing with Sierra (Beth’s niece).  I think she wanted to spend the night, but I’m not ready for that just yet….but I’m sure I will be in the future. Saturday: Me, my mom, Mastewal and Myer went shopping. Myer really needed some summer clothes and Nana certainly took care of that.  All the kids are ready for summer–we just need summer-type pajamas now.  In the afternoon my cousin Cortney came over to meet the kids.  We took another walk, went to visit and meet Aunt Jeanette, and then went to Millenium Park. It was pretty crowded, but Mastewal and Afton were able to see ducks and put their feet in the water.  We then went for sundaes from Baskin Robbins….and took some home to Nana and Papaw…and ate them BEFORE dinner…..only at Nana and Papaw’s house, haha. Sunday was my Papaw’s 80th birthday cookout.  The kids got to meet tons of extended family.  It was great. The also got to feed horses, and EAT!  Their favorite pastime.  It was really nice to see family.  We really miss you all and wish it wasn’t so long between gatherings.  I wish we didn’t live so far away. Monday we headed out after breakfast, my mom followed us to Lexington, and I was able to have an extra hand at Target, Kidz Nook and while we ate lunch. That was greatly appreciated.   Now we’re home (have been since Monday). I feel renewed after being home. I wish the great weather would have held out for us here, but at least we’ve been able to get out in between the bouts of rain. I think we all do better when we can get outside.  I will work on a post for Myer this evening.  I can’t believe he is 6 MONTHS OLD TODAY!

Here are some photos from our weekend in Kentucky. I’ll update and “fix” some of the photos, I feel like this post is taking way too long–and it’s driving me nuts having to adjust all the pictures so they will fit.  

 

Mastewal with Uncle Derrick

Mastewal with Uncle Derrick

Afton with Aunt Beth

Afton with Aunt Beth

Myer Enjoying the Cookout

Myer Enjoying the Cookout

The only naps Afton would take

The only naps Afton would take

Myer Also Enjoyed the Walks

Myer Also Enjoyed the Walks

Watching the Ducks at the Park

Watching the Ducks at the Park

Dipping Toes in the Pond with Cortney

Dipping Toes in the Pond with Cortney

Relaxin'

Relaxin'

Waiting for the Parachuting Bunny

Waiting for the Parachuting Bunny

Launching the Parachuting Bunny

Launching the Parachuting Bunny

Myer and Uncle Derrick

Myer and Uncle Derrick

Papaw and His Kids

Papaw and His Kids

Papaw and Some of His Grandkids and Great Grandkids

Papaw and Some of His Grandkids and Great Grandkids

One response to “our kentucky weekend

Leave a Reply

