06.20.2009

Saturday: I finally got my haircut (and caught up with an old friend) I have bangs now, and I’m liking them. I don’t feel as bad when I wear my hair in ponytail now. Maybe I’ll post a pic soon, we’ll see.

While I was getting my hair cut Seth got the kids ready and headed to the MultiCultural Festival to hear the Africa University Choir. I met up with them there and we enjoyed the performance.  We stayed for a bit, but the kids were getting hot and we took a break for some lunch and a little drive.  We returned and listened to Simple Gifts and Babatunde Lea. After those performances we went home for dinner and downtime.  We ventured back out the festival that evening and I’m glad we did.  We met up with friends and ran into Meskerem and her husband, “Teddy” (with their son “Manny”).  I was so glad (because I was supposed to call her, but hadn’t yet) because we’d met at the doctor’s office a few weeks earlier and I (we) wanted to get the children together to play. Our friends’ friend was also there and it was great to make so many Ethiopian connections that evening–and over the weekend. We (and the kids, despite what Mastewal says) really enjoyed ourselves.

 

Afton and Mastewal enjoying the Africa University Choir

Afton and Mastewal enjoying the Africa University Choir

 

Myer and Seth enjoying the music

Myer and Seth enjoying the music

 

Africa University Choir

Africa University Choir

 

Mastewal Hula Hoopin' to Babatunde Lea

Mastewal Hula Hoopin' to Babatunde Lea

 

Still Hoopin' to Babatunde Lea

Still Hoopin' to Babatunde Lea

 

Afton Most Interested In: Finding a Shh-nack in the bag

Afton Most Interested In: Finding a Shh-nack in the bag

2 responses to “06.20.2009

Leave a Reply

