08.11.2009

Random Post

Mastewal is fine. Her bloodwork and doctor visit showed nothing. She’s better (nothing like another trip to the lake for a cure). We’re gearing up for a trip to Michigan this weekend, but not before our 6 month post placement visit tomorrow. I can’t believe we’ve been home a little over 5 months now. 

All adoptions are final, I pick up our paperwork in the morning. Birth certificates are in the mail.

We signed Mastewal up for soccer, we’ll probably hear from her coach sometime this week. We’ve got all the gear, just ready to put it to use.

I’ve finished two books now, since our return from Ethiopia. I highly recommend both:

1594200289

 

51ehe4AICgL._SL500_AA240_

I also watched this other PBS Wide Angle Story: The Market Maker

WIDE ANGLE travels to East Africa to tell the dramatic story of an Ethiopian economist on a mission. Seeking a market-based solution to ending hunger in her famine-plagued country, she creates Ethiopia’s first commodities exchange. What she didn’t count on was a world financial crisis getting in the way.

I guess I was a little disappointed with it, and want a follow up to the story. I’d like to see if she makes it to the farmers way out—and see if she is able to do what she originally set out to do. 

School starts in TWO WEEKS!

2 responses to “08.11.2009

  • Marilyn

    I appreciate the book reviews. I’m on the last book in my pile now and, with your two, I got three interesting recommendations in the last day or so.

  • Ann Talcott

    Just picked up the 28 book at the library yesterday for my daughter. I guess I will have to read it before I return it. Hope you guys are all doing well. I think of you often. Aren’t you going back in September? Ann

Leave a Reply

