08.26.2009: First Day of Kindergarten

Mastewal has been at school for 1 hour and 35 minutes. The boys are playing (more like Afton taking toys from Myer and pretending he’s not). 

I can’t think of what to do today. I have a feeling of freedom with hesitation. What should I do with the boys today? I just want to get going somewhere and at the same time I’m a little sad.  Sad that Mastewal is going to be at school all day. I don’t really know what to do with myself. I could write a post about how is unreal that we’ve been parents for 10 months. We’ve been with Mastewal and Afton for 6 months.  WE ARE FIRST TIME PARENTS and have a child that started kindergarten today. Some families have 5 years or so to prepare for this.  As much as I was ready for this, I am not. 

I know that she is having a blast. She ran right in and sat in the line designated for her class (bumping her way to the front of course). She’s been ready for a while now. She did great at her orientation and the open house last night. She picked her locker (actually she chose one of the two pink tubs that happened to be “extra lockers”–I was a little surprised by her choice, but then realized she picked this so she could be different and wouldn’t have the same things as everyone else—that is also ANOTHER POST, itself). She actually even came to “know” a couple of kids yesterday through her soccer practice and orientation and the previous VBS at the church. 

This comforts me as I ponder about what to do today. I’m missing a quarter of our crew today–and I’m trying to figure out how this is going to work. I’m sure I’ll get the hang of it…..and then I’ll be back at square one on Monday when Afton starts preschool.  I’ll be wondering what Myer and I will do for those three hours he’s away everyday. Then we’ll be a crew of 2.

 

Afton waiting patiently at Mastewal's soccer practice

Afton waiting patiently at Mastewal's soccer practice

 

Mastewal Soccer Practice

Mastewal Soccer Practice

08252009soccermastewal08252009mommyandmyersoccer

Our "New" Morning Routine

Our "New" Morning Routine

Showing her backpack

Showing her backpack

 

First Day of Kindergarten

First Day of Kindergarten

2 responses to “08.26.2009: First Day of Kindergarten

Leave a Reply

