ethiopia trip: 09.23.2009

Wednesday

Awassa

I think I had breakfast at the Lewi Hotel. Some type of cake after ordering everything that seemed appealing and being told they don’t have it.

We then checked out of the Gebrekristo and headed toward finding accommodations at one of the Lewi hotels, they are nicer–and yes, more touristy.  We quickly learned that if Ayele filled out the little cards for the rooms we would get a cheaper (habesha) price for rooms than if I completed them (ferenge price). He started filling out the cards 🙂

We then headed toward the big attraction in Awassa: THE LAKE

I loved it. I could have stayed there FOREVER . It was peaceful.

After some negotiations with boat guides/drivers. We were booked to see the hippos in the afternoon–and we had made a new “friend”/”guide”–a 19 year old boy Wondeye, who fought for a better deal for this ferenge. It ended up costing me a lot more at the end of my trip (I’ll write about that for Sunday’s post) but for this day (Wednesday), thanks for your help.

I think that I had roasted tebs again for lunch/dinner and then maybe french fries for dinner/dinner (so I could take my malaria meds).

Big Birds

Big Birds

Big Birds Little Boy

Big Birds Little Boy

First Monkey

First Monkey

Boats to Hippos

Boats to Hippos

Workin' Out A Deal

Workin' Out A Deal

Agreement Reached

Agreement Reached

While I Watched and Relaxed on a Nearby Overlook

While I Watched and Relaxed on a Nearby Overlook

On the Lake: On the Way to the Hippos

On the Lake: On the Way to the Hippos

Hippos

Hippos

3 responses to “ethiopia trip: 09.23.2009

Leave a Reply

