ethiopia trip: 09.25.2009

Friday

Met Wondeye. Showed his new shirt and trousers that he purchased with the extra birr.  He seems happy.

We start a trek to an overlook of the Lake.

We enter this neighborhood. I have candy (kueureumela). I always have candy. Kids like candy. Kids are excited to see ferenge. I am excited to give kids candy and ask their names in Amharic. This is totally for me—it makes me feel good.

Starting the trek (in the neighborhood)

Starting the trek (in the neighborhood)

greetings from children

greetings from children

growing in number

growing in number

one kid

one kid

two kids

two kids

three kids, four

three kids, four

five, six, seven kids...how many more?

five, six, seven kids...how many more?

sweet girl

sweet girl

It’s raining. I think it’s a bigger deal for them than it is for me. We take shelter outside a little apartment. We’re invited to “come, sit”. We do. I’m glad. I get to interact with some children. Share my bracelets and kueureumela. Learn their names. Masharet, Bruke, Tigist.  Play with Tigist’s hair. They show me their doll.  Her name is “doll”. Take photos. Practice my Amharic.

shelter from the rain

shelter from the rain

Masharet, Tigist & Bruke

Masharet, Tigist & Bruke

Masherat

Masharet

Tigist

Tigist

"Come, Sit"

"Come, Sit"

Back to the trek. Many times I’m told to “take care”. Hmmmm.  “I have been on a few hikes/treks in America” I think to myself. I have to remind them that it’s normal for me to stumble a little because “I’m clumsy”.

Get to the peak. Nice.

The Lake

The Lake

Nice View

Nice View

Wondeye and Ayele

Wondeye and Ayele

Blue Birds.

Blue Bird

Blue Bird

Take a gari! I only have printed pics of this, maybe I can scan one in later 🙂

Eat some roasted tebs at an another place.

Give birr for Wondeye to get a bike to make transportation to school more easy and affordable.

Shoe shine. Guy chewing chat. Very happy. My feet and chacos stink. I tell Ayele to tell “chat guy” that’s why he can’t shine my shoes as he wanted. Hilarious. Nice to hear people laugh.

referenced "chat guy" in background

referenced "chat guy" in background

Leave a Reply

